Week 5: ePortfolio Comparison and Playing Politics

For years I wondered how so many of my friends were able to record their computer screens for “How-to” videos or just for amusement.  This bewilderment persisted until I figured out how to use the Screen Recording tool in most Microsoft programs; thinking that had to be the way that they were creating these cool videos.  Never have I ever heard of “screencast-o-matic”, but this website is extremely handy and easy to use for projects that involve screen recording.  I had no trouble with this part of the assignment.  Of the ePortfolios presented, I chose the Kekai Kotaki website because I knew he was and truly appreciate his illustrations; not so much his website.  For the comparison, I chose an amazing photographer named Eric Ryan Anderson, with a difficult to navigate, but greatly appealing website.  This step was also uncomplicated.  The difficulty came about when I tried editing using Windows Live Movie Maker and its limited capabilities.  Being used to creating content on Mac computers in school, the library, and other places, I realized how restricted PC users are when desiring to edit videos; there is not enough artistic control in this program.  The production quality of the videos may not be as high as that of iMovie, but I believe sufficient results can become of this basic program.  Hopefully, my video proves my previous statement true.

Here is my video for your enjoyment:

With regard to the reading this week,  Bogost, I. (2006) Playing Politics: Videogames for Politics, Activism, Advocacy, I would like to start by mentioning how little I knew about the connection between video games and politics; I have never encountered the phrase “identity politics” either.  In 2004, I was not even 10 years old, and only used the computer for learning games and Barbie.com.  The relationship between the internet and politics has been prominent in my lifetime, so I understand all of the information regarding the earlier presidential elections and the campaigning.  Returning to video games, I believe that they can convey meanings that either facilitate the rewriting or narration of history, reflect the current status of societies, or even predict (sometimes outrageous) future outcomes of our world.  Bogost writes that …”more recently a number of videogames have taken on more explicit representations of history, fashioning themselves after another newly politicized medium”…  Games that deal with historical events, such as the JFK games, or the ones that deal with wars seem to give people who may have not been part of these events in history, the chance to experience them from a spectator view.  I am not sure if these do more harm or good, but they do evoke reactions, expose viewers/players to these environments, while simultaneously being entertaining.

5 thoughts on “Week 5: ePortfolio Comparison and Playing Politics

  1. Jordan says:

    Your video seemed very well put together for someone who has never used screencast-o-matic! The video didn’t have any awkward pauses which was great.I agree with your thoughts on video games that they do evoke reactions, but do they really send a lasting message to the user

    Like

  2. jdelgado1217 says:

    Awesome video, I like how you went into detail when reviewing his e portfolio. I also found it interesting how you focus on one portfolio and then on the next. I like that because you’re able to review each portfolio thoroughly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

